|
<% ns_puts [mkm_getnavbar] %>
|

The Singles Game
13. The Let
In all cases where a let has to be called under the rules, or to provide
for an interruption to play, it shall have the following interpretations:
a. When called solely in respect of a service that one service only shall
be replayed.
b. When called under any other circumstance, the point shall be replayed.
Case 1. A service is interrupted by some cause outside those
defined in Rule 14. Should the service only be replayed?
Decision: No, the whole point must be replayed.
USTA Comment: If the interruption occurs during delivery of the
second service, the Server gets two serves. Example: On a second service a
linesman calls "fault" and immediately corrects it, the Receiver
meanwhile having let the ball go by. The Server is entitled to two serves,
on this ground: The corrected call means that the Server has put the ball
into play with a good service, and once the ball is in play and a let is
called, the point must be replayed. Note, however, that if the serve is an
unmistakable ace-that is, the Umpire is sure the erroneous call had no
part in the Receiver's inability to play the ball-the point should be
declared for the Server.
If a delay between first and second serves is caused by the Receiver,
by an official or by an outside interference the whole point shall be
replayed; if the delay is caused by the Server, the Server has one serve
to come. A spectator's outcry (of "out," "fault" or
other) is not a valid basis for replay of a point, but action should be
taken to prevent a recurrence.
Case 2. If a ball in play becomes broken, should a let be
called?
Decision: Yes
USTA Comment: A ball shall be regarded as having become
"broken" if, in the opinion of the Umpire, it is found to have
lost compression to the point of being unfit for further play, or unfit
for any reason, and it is clear the defective ball was the one in play.
|