
The Singles Game
20. Player Loses Point
A player loses the point if:
a. He fails, before the ball in play has hit the ground twice
consecutively, to return it directly over the net (except as provided in
Rule 24(a) or (c)); or
b. He returns the ball in play so that it hits the ground, a permanent
fixture, or other object, outside any of the lines which bound his
opponent's Court; or
c. He volleys the ball and fails to make a good return even when standing
outside the Court; or
USTA Comment: A ball hitting a scoring device or other object
attached to a net post results in loss of point to the striker.
d. In playing the ball he deliberately carries or catches it on his
racket or deliberately touches it with his racket more than once; or
USTA Comment: Only when there is a definite "second
push" by the player does his shot become illegal, with consequent
loss of point. The word "deliberately" is the key word in this
rule. Two hits occurring in the course of a single continuous swing are
not deemed a double hit.
e. He or his racket (in his hand or otherwise) or anything which he
wears or carries touches the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal
cable, strap or band, or the ground within his opponent's Court at any
time while the ball is in play; or
USTA Comment: Touching a pipe support that runs across the Court
at the bottom of the net is interpreted as touching the net. See USTA
Comment under Rule 23 for a ball which hits a pipe support.
f. He volleys the ball before it has passed the net; or
g. The ball in play touches him or anything that he wears or carries,
except his racket in his hand or hands; or
USTA Comment: This loss of point occurs regardless of whether
the player is inside or outside the bounds of his Court when the ball
touches him.
h. He throws his racket at and hits the ball; or
i. He deliberately and materially changes the shape of his racket during
the playing of the point.
Case 1. In serving, the racket flies from the Server's hand and
touches the net before the ball has touched the ground. Is this a fault,
or does the player lose the point?
Decision: The Server loses the point because his racket touches the
net whilst the ball is in play (Rule 20(e)).
Case 2. In serving, the racket flies from the Server's hand and
touches the net after the ball has touched the ground outside the proper
court. Is this a fault, or does the player lose the point?
Decision: This is a fault because the ball was out of play when the
racket touched the net.
Case 3. A and B are playing against C and D, A is serving to D,
C touches the net before the ball touches the ground. A fault is then
called because the service falls outside the Service Court. Do C and D
lose the point?
Decision: The call "fault" is an erroneous one. C and D
had already lost the point before "fault" could be called,
because C touched the net whilst the ball was in play (Rule 20(e)).
Case 4. May a player jump over the net into his opponent's Court
while the ball is in play and not suffer penalty?
Decision. No. He loses the point (Rule 20(e)).
Case 5. A cuts the ball just over the net, and it returns to A's
side. B, unable to reach the ball, throws his racket and hits the ball.
Both racket and ball fall over the net on A's Court. A returns the ball
outside of B's Court. Does B win or lose the point?
Decision: B loses the point (Rule 20(e) and (h)).
Case 6. A player standing outside the service Court is struck by
a service ball before it has touched the ground. Does he win or lose the
point?
Decision: The player struck loses the point (Rule 20(g)), except as
provided under Rule 14(a).
Case 7. A player standing outside the Court volleys the ball or
catches it in his hand and claims the point because the ball was certainly
going out of court.
Decision: In no circumstances can he claim the point:
i. If he catches the ball he loses the point under Rule 20(g).
ii. If he volleys it and makes a bad return he loses the point under Rule
20(c).
iii. If he volleys it and makes a good return, the rally continues.
|