
The Singles Game
29. Role of Court Officials
In matches where an Umpire is appointed, his decision shall be final; but
where a Referee is appointed, an appeal shall lie to him from the decision
of an Umpire on a question of law, and in all such cases the decision of
the Referee shall be final.
In matches where assistants to the Umpire are appointed (Linespersons,
Net-cord Judges, Foot-fault Judges) their decisions shall be final on
questions of fact except that if in the opinion of an Umpire a clear
mistake has been made he shall have the right to change the decision of an
assistant or order a let to be played. When such an assistant is unable to
give a decision he shall indicate this immediately to the Umpire who shall
give a Decision. When an Umpire is unable to give a decision on a question
of fact he shall order a let to be played.
In Davis Cup matches or other team competitions where a Referee is on
Court, any decision can be changed by the Referee, who may also instruct
an Umpire to order a let to be played.
The Referee, in his discretion, may at any time postpone a match on
account of darkness or the condition of the ground or the weather. In any
case of postponement the previous score and previous occupancy of courts
shall hold good, unless the Referee and the players unanimously agree
otherwise.
USTA Comment: See fourth USTA Comment under Rule 30 regarding
resumption of suspended match.
Case 1. The Umpire orders a let, but a player claims that the
point should not be replayed. May the Referee be requested to give a
decision?
Decision: Yes. A question of tennis law, that is, an issue relating
to the application of specific facts, shall first be determined by the
Umpire. However, if the Umpire is uncertain or if a player appeals from
his determination, then the Referee shall be requested to give a decision,
and his decision is final.
Case 2. A ball is called out, but a player claims that the ball
was good. May the Referee give a ruling?
Decision: No. This is a question of fact, that is an issue relating
to what actually occurred during a specific incident, and the decision of
the on-court officials is therefore final.
Case 3. May an Umpire overrule a Linesman at the end of a rally
if, in his opinion, a clear mistake has been made during the course of a
rally?
Decision: No. An Umpire may overrule a Linesman only if he does so
immediately after the mistake has been made.
USTA Comment: See Rule 17, Case 1 regarding non-officiated
matches.
Case 4. A Linesman calls a ball out. The Umpire was unable to
see clearly, although he thought the ball was in. May he overrule the
Linesman?
Decision: No. An Umpire may only overrule if he considers that a
call was incorrect beyond all reasonable doubt. He may only overrule a
ball determined good by a Linesman only if he has been able to see a space
between the ball and the line; and he may only overrule a ball determined
out, or a fault, by a Linesman only if he has seen the ball hit the line,
or fall inside the line.
Case 5. May a Linesman change his call after the Umpire has
given the score?
Decision: Yes. If a Linesman realizes he has made an error, he may
make a correction provided he does so immediately.
Case 6. A player claims his return shot was good after a
Linesman called "out." May the Umpire overrule the Linesman?
Decision: No. An Umpire may never overrule as a result of a protest
or an appeal by a player.
|