
The Singles Game
10. Service Fault
The Service is a fault:
a. If the Server commits any breach of Rules 7, 8 or 9(b);
b. If he misses the ball in attempting to strike it;
c. If the ball served touches a permanent fixture (other than the net,
strap or band) before it hits the
ground.
Case 1. After throwing a ball up preparatory to serving, the
Server decides not to strike at it and catches it instead. Is it a fault?
Decision: No.
USTA Comment: As long as the Server makes no attempt to strike
at the ball, it is immaterial whether he catches it in his hand or his
racket or lets it drop to the ground.
Case 2. In serving in a singles game played on a Doubles Court
with doubles posts and singles sticks, the ball hits a singles stick and
then hits the ground within the lines of the correct Service Court. Is
this a fault or a let?
Decision: In serving it is a fault, because the singles stick, the
doubles post, and that portion of the net, or band between them are
permanent fixtures. (Rules 2 and 10, and note to Rule 24.)
USTA Comment: The significant point is that the part of the net
and band "outside" the singles sticks is not part of the net
over which this singles match is being played. Thus such a serve is a
fault under the provisions of subparagraph c. above. By the same token,
this would be a fault also if it were a singles game played with permanent
posts in the singles position. See Case 1 under Rule 24 for difference
between "service" and "good return" with respect to a
ball hitting a net post.
|