
The Singles Game
24. A Good Return
It is a good return:
a. If the ball touches the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal
cable, strap or band, provided that it passes over any of them and hits
the ground within the Court; or
b. If the ball, served or returned, hits the ground within the proper
Court and rebounds or is blown back over the net, and the player whose
turn it is to strike reaches over the net and plays the ball, provided
that he does not contravene Rule 20(e); or
c. If the ball is returned outside the posts, or singles sticks, either
above or below the level of the top of the net, even though it touches the
posts or singles sticks, provided that it hits the ground within the
proper Court; or
d. If a player's racket passes over the net after he has returned the
ball, provided the ball passes the net before being played and is properly
returned; or
e. If a player succeeds in returning the ball, served or in play, which
strikes a ball lying in the Court.
USTA Comment: Paragraph e. of the rule refers to a ball lying on
the Court at the start of the point, as a result of a service let or
fault, or as a result of a player dropping it. If a ball in play strikes a
rolling or stationary "foreign" ball that has come from
elsewhere after the point started, a let should be played. See Case 7
under Rule 25 which pertains to an object other than a ball that is being
used in the match.
ITF Note: In a singles match, if, for the sake of convenience, a
Doubles Court is equipped with singles sticks for the purpose of a singles
game, then the doubles posts and those portions of the net, cord or metal
cable and the band outside such singles sticks shall at all times be
permanent fixtures, and are not regarded as posts or parts of the net of a
singles game.
A return that passes under the net cord between the singles stick and
adjacent doubles post without touching either net cord, net or doubles
post and falls within the court, is a good return.
USTA Comment: In doubles this would be a
"through"-loss of point.
Case 1. A ball going out of Court hits a net post or singles
stick and falls within the lines of the opponent's Court. Is the stroke
good?
Decision: If a service: no, under Rule 10c. If other than a
service: yes, under Rule 24(a).
Case 2. Is it a good return if a player returns the ball holding
his racket in both hands?
Decision: Yes.
Case 3. The service, or ball in play, strikes a ball lying in
the Court. Is the point won or lost thereby?
Decision: No. Play must continue. If it is not clear to the Umpire
that the right ball is returned a let should be called.
USTA Comment: A ball that is touching a boundary line is
considered to be "lying in the Court".
Case 4. May a player use more than one racket at any time during
play?
Decision: No. The whole implication of the Rules is singular.
Case 5. May a player request that a ball or balls lying in his
opponent's Court be removed?
Decision: Yes, but not while a ball is in play.
USTA Comment: This request must be honored.
|