
The Singles Game
21. Player Hinders Opponent
If a player commits any act which hinders his opponent in making a stroke,
then, if this is deliberate, he shall lose the point or if involuntary,
the point shall be replayed.
Case 1. Is a player liable to a penalty if in making a stroke he
touches his opponent?
Decision: No, unless the Umpire deems it necessary to take action
under Rule 21.
Case 2. When a ball bounds back over the net, the player
concerned may reach over the net in order to play the ball. What is the
ruling if the player is hindered from doing this by his opponent?
Decision: In accordance with Rule 21, the Umpire may either award
the point to the player hindered, or order the point to be replayed (see
also Rule 25).
Case 3. Does an involuntary double hit constitute an act which
hinders an opponent within Rule 21?
Decision: No.
USTA Comment: "Deliberate" means a player did what he
intended to do, although the resulting effect on his opponent might or
might not have been what he intended. Example: a player, after his return
is in the air, gives advice to his partner in such a loud voice that his
opponent is hindered. "Involuntary" means a non-intentional act
such as a hat blowing off or a scream resulting from a sudden wasp sting.
|