
The Singles Game
25. Hindrance of a Player
In case a player is hindered in making a stroke by anything not within his
control, except a permanent fixture of the Court, or except as provided
for in Rule 21, a let shall be called.
USTA Comment: See Rule 13 and its USTA Comments regarding lets.
Case 1. A spectator gets into the way of a player, who fails to
return the ball. May the player then claim a let?
Decision: Yes. If in the Umpire's opinion he was obstructed by
circumstances beyond his control, but not if due to permanent fixtures of
the Court or the arrangements of the ground.
Case 2. A player is interfered with as in Case No.1, and the
Umpire calls a let. The Server had previously served a fault. Has he the
right to two services?
Decision: Yes. If the ball is in play, the point, not merely the
stroke, must be replayed as the Rule provides.
Case 3. May a player claim a let under Rule 25 because he
thought his opponent was being hindered, and consequently did not expect
the ball to be returned?
Decision: No.
Case 4. Is a stroke good when a ball in play hits another ball
in the air?
Decision: A let should be called unless the other ball is in the
air by the act of one of the players, in which case the Umpire will decide
under Rule 21.
Case 5. If an Umpire or other judge erroneously calls
"fault" or "out", and then corrects himself, which of
the calls shall prevail?
Decision: A let must be called unless, in the opinion of the
Umpire, neither player is hindered in his game, in which case the
corrected call shall prevail.
Case 6. If the first ball served-a fault-rebounds, interfering
with the Receiver at the time of the second service, may the Receiver
claim a let?
Decision: Yes. But if he had an opportunity to remove the ball from
the Court and negligently failed to do so, he may not claim a let.
Case 7. Is it a good stroke if the ball touches a stationary or
moving object on the Court?
Decision: It is a good stroke unless the stationary object came
into Court after the ball was put into play in which case a let must be
called. If the ball in play strikes an object moving along or above the
surface of the Court a let must be called.
Case 8. What is the ruling if the first service is a fault, the
second service correct, and it becomes necessary to call a let either
under the provision of Rule 25 or if the Umpire is unable to decide the
point?
Decision: The fault shall be annulled and the whole point replayed.
|